Being stared at

After living here for about a month, I have repeatedly noticed one thing. PEOPLE ALWAYS STARE AT ME!
I have found that I am constantly being stared at!

I have seen people actually stop walking so they can stare at me. I have even seen people take pictures of me! Sometimes secretly, but I have even had people approach me and ask if they can have a picture with me.

At first it was a little uncomfortable, and it made me nervous to know that these strangers were taking pictures of me.It was surprising to me, because there are certainly a lot of foreigners here, but many people stare like you are the first foreigner to step foot in Korea.

Back in America, no one really pays any attention to me, but when I came here, I feel a million eyes on me. Well not a million….but it sure feels like it.Other international students here have said the same thing, and almost everyone has had this experience. We also noticed if you are blonde, you will get a lot of attention.

Now that I’ve been here for a month, it doesn’t bother me too much. I’ve gotten used to the looks on campus, on the subway, and basically anywhere. It makes me feel cool, like a movie star or something. Haha 🙂

I’ve decided to not let it bother me, and enjoy before I go back to America where I blend it. It’s fun to stand out every once in a while. But I know it can be a real struggle if you hate that sort of thing.

If it’s bothersome to you, I would suggest when you’re in public listening to music, or reading a book, or something that will keep you distracted, so you don’t look around and notice if people are staring. Frankly speaking, I don’t think you can stop it, so just enjoy it, and pretend you’re a movie star 🙂

Leave a Reply

